The Forestry Branch, consisting of six divisions—Administration, Fire Control, Forest Management, Forest Research, Inventory and Silviculture—is responsible for developing and evaluating forest policies and management programs based on the findings of inventory and research. The responsibility for carrying out such policies and programs is borne by the various regional administrative authorities. For purposes of resource administration, the province, with the exception of the most northern portion, is divided into three regions, each under the supervision of a regional superintendent. The regions are subdivided into conservation officer districts which vary in size according to resource base and population to be served. In the most northern part of the province, because of various special programs with northern residents, resource administration is the responsibility of the Northern Affairs Branch of the same Department. Close liaison is maintained between the Forestry Branch and the various regional authorities.

A major responsibility of the Forestry Branch is the development of techniques in the prevention, detection and suppression of forest fires. A network of 72 lookout towers equipped with two-way radios is maintained throughout the province and is supplemented by three aircraft on regular patrol duty during the high-hazard periods. A group of smokejumpers, trained to parachute on remote fires, is in constant readiness during the fire season and, if necessary, takes immediate suppression action which it maintains until relieved by overland crews. Northern Saskatchewan's communication system, with more than 990 two-way radio sets in operation in towers, vehicles, aircraft and forest camps, plays a vital role in the detection and suppression of forest fires. These activities are assisted by the use of helicopters and aircraft equipped for water-dropping.

Alberta.—The 157,595 sq. miles of provincial forest in Alberta are administered by the Alberta Forest Service of the Department of Lands and Forests at Edmonton. The Service, headed by the Director of Forestry, is composed of five Branches—Administration, Forest Protection, Forest Management, Forest Surveys and Planning, and Forestry Training.

For ease of administration the forest area has been divided into 11 Forests, each responsible for the forest within its boundaries. These Forests are composed of Ranger Districts in which all activities are supervised by the district forest officer responsible to his superintendent. Each Forest staff includes: forest superintendent, fire control officer and assistant, forester, mechanical foreman, carpenter foreman, equipment operators, scalers, land-use officers, radio operators, clerks, stenographers, and seasonal help such as standby fire crews, lookout men, general labourers and construction crews. Some Forests have minimum security crews that are employed in forest management, protection and construction projects.

The Administration Branch supervises all branches, maintains general control over revenue and expenditure, maintains the equipment inventory and deals with personnel.

The Forest Protection Branch has charge of all phases of protection including prevention, detection, suppression and use of forest and prairie fires. The Branch also plans, supervises and executes the construction and maintenance of the road and building programs and supervises the radio communication facilities.

The functions of the Forest Managment Branch include the acceptance and approval of management and annual operating plans prepared for leased and licensed Crown lands, implementation of management plans prepared by the Department, supervision of proper land-use practices and the disposal of Crown timber. This extends to all phases including processing of timber applications, selection of timber to be sold, cruising of merchantable timber, inspection of cutting areas to ensure proper logging and utilization practices, scaling of forest products, collection of dues and fees and reforestation programs for areas denuded by cutting and fire. It is also responsible for the implementation and supervision of the new timber quota system.